Options

Introduction

Hi everyone,

This is John Roe. I'm a midcareer mathematician and have just (last month) finished a stint as department head. Hooray! For a couple of years it has been growing on me that I want to engage more directly with sustainability issues, as I've come to understand the astonishing rate at which our species seems to be spending down our planetary inheritance. I've been planning to join the Azimuth group since I heard about it, but felt that I should wait until my departmental duties were over.

The theme of my mathematical work has been generalizations of the Atiyah-Singer index theorem, especially to non-compact manifolds. In thinking about this stuff, I stumbled upon the fact that what's relevant for index theory is the large scale or "coarse" geometry of a non-compact manifold. This subject has lots of relationships with networks and spectral graph theory in particular, which I know is a topic of interest here. That's one thing I'd like to explore. (To read a little bit more about my stuff, take a look at my Notices article or this book.)

One topic that interests me a lot at present is education for sustainability through college math classes. One the one hand, most college students (here in the US) have to take some kind of "quantification" or "general education" class in math. On the other hand, much "sustainability awareness" just involves exactly the kind of basic quantitative literacy that these classes should be teaching. How to bring these together? Marty Walter's class at Boulder is one example, but is it scalable?

I have been writing about sustainability from a less technical and more theological perspective over at my blog Points of Inflection for a year or so now. I've been coding since the early 1970s, in various languages, and am presently trying to learn Haskell.

Comments

edited July 2012