Options

Blog - the mathematical origin of irreversibility

Matteo Smerlak of the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics has written a very nice article following up on the theme of 'evolution and thermodynamics', which I'd started developing in my more recent 'information geometry' posts:

He wrote it in LaTeX as a little paper. I dumped it onto the wiki, and am gradually fixing the formatting so that it's suitable for the blog.

Comments

nad
    edited September 2012

thanks for the article.

In a symmetric mutation scheme (where the mutation rate from $a$ to $b$ equals the mutation rate from $b$ to $a$), the ratio between the $a$↦$b$ and $b$↦$a$ transition rates is completely determined by the fitnesses $f_{a,b}$ of $a$ and $b$, according to

I am a former mathematical physicist :) so I am not sure anymore, but I thought that a condition for a markovian process was that the probabilities where independent, which probably gives some conditions on the transition rates.

So if the fitnesses of an evolution are in the relation to the transition rates, as stated in the article, then this seems to mean that the corresponding evolution model incorporates some (simplifying) condition on the fitnesses. Is this right?