Options

Hello Azimuth!

I've always found self-introductions a bit awkward, but let's see. I'm 27 and hold a postdoc position at the MPI for Gravitational Physics (Germany). I did my PhD on "spinfoam quantum gravity", under the co-supervision of Rovelli and Rivasseau. Fascinating, yes, but a bit like John, I tend to get more interested in the real stuff these days: how you can design matter to make it behave the way you want it to, how cities scale, etc. I too share the desire to think usefully.

My first contribution to Azimuth will be a guest post on the "fluctuation theorem" of non-equilibrium statistical mechanics. This is an important recent result in physics, with lots of applications—everybody agrees on that. But my view is that it is much more than that! I see it pretty much on the same footing as the central limit theorem: a fundamental mathematical fact, with applications in essentially all branches of science. Stochastic dynamics is so central to the discussions going on here on Azimuth, I'm thinking this "fluctuation theorem" may be of interest also (and perhaps especially) to the non-physicists. Check the post next week if you're interested.

Oh, I almost forgot: I'm very much impressed by John's (and his co-contributors') commitment to share his ideas openly and freely, for so long. Impressed, and grateful.

Comments

There is a fair bit of work on fluctuation-dissipation theory in climate science, which I happen to be reading about right now. There was some hope that it would help to estimate climate feedbacks from observations of the natural variability in the climate system, but it seems that you need far too long of a time series for that approach to be directly useful. However, people keep working on extensions and generalizations, and perhaps it will pay off in the end.