Options

Infinity

I am not a mathematician, nor a scientist, hell, I'm not even a Lutheran. In fact, I am an artist...only because what I do is not anything else. Nevertheless, this notion appeared in my thoughts as I awoke one morning, I apologize for my ignorance, but, here it is: ∞ + 1 = ∞

I'm pretty sure it is nonsense. I, however, would appreciate comments and your thoughts.

Comments

edited July 2013

We need art for the project, or was that the extent of your interest :D

Comment Source:We need art for the project, or was that the extent of your interest :D
    edited July 2013
    No. Just the odd equation that happened. I know it is absurd, but... I think this has more to do with intuitive sense, more than mathematics or science...although intuitive insights are common to both art and science. I was hoping for some understanding of the equation in conventional terms.
    Comment Source:No. Just the odd equation that happened. I know it is absurd, but... I think this has more to do with intuitive sense, more than mathematics or science...although intuitive insights are common to both art and science. I was hoping for some understanding of the equation in conventional terms.
    edited July 2013

You'll find more details on this wikipedia page but in the most common way of modelling things, basically $\infty + 1 \ne \infty$, but you do have that $1+\infty = \infty$... I'd love to spend more time discussing this, but unfortunately I'm already behind on my contribution to a paper...

(Edit: the "most common way of modelling" above was an attempt to avoid having to talk about the distinction between ordinal and cardinal infinities. The above is in terms of ordinals, and the non-commutativity of ordinal transfinite addition might have been intriguing and make readers want to find out more about the weird world. Todd has a great explanation about cardinal infinities below.)

As Jacob says, Azimuth could definitely do with some interesting art.