Options

Introduction: Alec Stein

Hi everyone. I am a concerned student scientist and I study particles and cosmology at UCLA. I'm also the student representative on the Zero Waste Taskforce there, which is a team of people who brainstorm about how to help our campus reach its target of 95% waste diversion by the year 2020.

Working on the Taskforce has given me a new perspective on dealing with policymakers -- in this case, the university administration. Even for a small proposal (that is, to make the purchase of a coffee and coffee cup separate), I've had to go through all kinds of rigamarole to prove it wouldn't cost a thing to implement -- a little unfairly, in my own opinion.

With that said, I realize that waste problem is just a small part of the larger environmental problem, and that sometimes managing one problem can exacerbate another. I can illustrate the point. To the Taskforce, waste diversion and waste reduction are equivalently good. This means that if we had the choice between using (say) paper bags, which can be recycled, and (say) plastic bags, which cannot be, that we would choose the paper bags, irrespective of the carbon impact.

But maybe that's not such a bad choice. The problem gets bigger when you consider one of our actual proposals, namely, transitioning from disposable to compostable dishware. We will need to divert this waste to nail our target, but we have been overlooking the most obvious solution, which also happens to be the hardest to implement: reusable dishes. Yet however much better those may be in the long run, it's difficult to imagine the administration investing in dishwashers for the sake of sustainability, even if we would eventually break even.