Options

Introduction: Grant Roy

Hi,

I'm a software engineer in the Pierce Lab at Caltech, where I work on NUPACK as part of the molecular programming project. I'm interested in algorithms and applications geared toward understanding and designing bio-molecular functionality. I'm also really interested in quantum computing, and in particular the design of novel quantum algorithms/circuits that could be useful in the biological sciences. I have a more general interest in the idea of open scientific collaboration and learning, and consequently I am very excited about this course!

Comments

Hi! Did we meet when I gave the General Biology Seminar at Caltech last November? I'm bad at remembering names. Anyway, category theory has made an impact on quantum computing, especially topological quantum computing where "modular tensor categories" are important... but it could be useful far more widely, and I hope everyone in this course helps figure out a lot of new applications!

What's "NUPACK"?

Comment Source:Hi! Did we meet when I gave the [General Biology Seminar](http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/bio_asu/) at Caltech last November? I'm bad at remembering names. Anyway, category theory has made an impact on quantum computing, especially topological quantum computing where "modular tensor categories" are important... but it could be useful far more widely, and I hope everyone in this course helps figure out a lot of new applications! What's "NUPACK"?

Hi John! No, I saw your talk and unfortunately my group had a meeting at the same time and I was really bummed I couldn't make it....I was like 'ah come on, are you serious group meeting?' :)