Options

Introduction: Balachandran Chandrasekharan

Hi,

I write software for my experience design company ( https://www.facebook.com/oleindia/ ). I first heard of Category Theory through the book Topos of Music, about ten years ago. More recently, I was exposed to it when I started learning a bit of Haskell. I found Bartosz's blog quite interesting.

I would like to learn enough Category Theory to understand and work on Conal Elliott's ConCat ( http://conal.net/papers/compiling-to-categories/compiling-to-categories.pdf ). Any tool / perspective that would help in making robust systems would be a win.

Bala.

Comments

edited March 2018

Nice paper to compile Haskell to FPGAs. I like the use Lambek-Scott translation as principled.

Comment Source:Nice paper to compile Haskell to FPGAs. I like the use Lambek-Scott translation as principled.

Nice paper to compile Haskell to FPGAs. I like the use Lambeck-Scott translation as principled.

Trying to understand that. Aren't they compiling to a HDL such as VHDL or Verilog, and that is what is being transformed into a FPGA (for example)?

Interesting that a language such as VHDL has multiple categories of use implicit in it's design. It's able to take a model of a "circuit" and create a behavioral description of the circuit or a structural description of the circuit, as well as being able to accommodate generic monadic bindings to the type system. That's essentially the reason that VHDL has been able to build up a huge library of reusable components and why the semiconductor industry has been able to simulate, test, and synthesize/fabricate all the complex logic on a chip.