Options

Introduction: Christian Williams

Hello! My name is Christian Williams, and I am a first-year PhD student of John Baez at UC Riverside. I'm very happy to say this; I think I'm exactly where I should be. My passion is to use abstract thought to reform the world, and this is epitomized in the inspiring endeavor of applied category theory. I've begun research in categorical distributed computation; I think this subject is of vital significance and vast possibility, yet it is only in its inception. This is true of all ACT, and that's why this course and this community is so important. Thanks for being here, and I am excited to learn and discuss with everyone.

Comments

Christian, thank you very much for your help in my early attempts to understand category theory. The study group I was participating in when I was asking you questions was conducted in https://www.scuttlebutt.nz/ which is a radically distributed computing system. Includes several category students as well as functional programmers. Categorical distributed computation should be right up their alley. Where do you want to go with such research? They might be able to help.

Comment Source:Christian, thank you very much for your help in my early attempts to understand category theory. The study group I was participating in when I was asking you questions was conducted in https://www.scuttlebutt.nz/ which is a radically distributed computing system. Includes several category students as well as functional programmers. Categorical distributed computation should be right up their alley. Where do you want to go with such research? They might be able to help.

Hello Bob, thank you! I'm sorry I just now saw this. Scuttlebutt looks very interesting; I definitely support better forms of social network.