Options

Introduction: Michael Hong

Hey everybody!

My name is Michael but people call me Mickey so if it ever recalls in your future memory feel free to call me by my less formal name. I am a physician currently practicing in Seoul, Korea where I specialize in metabolic recovery, nutrition, and psychology. I studied chemical engineering as an undergrad so always had an interest in applied mathematics but working on open ended problems eventually got me into pure mathematics.

I first started learning category theory couple years ago but being a non-math major, I didn't understand a single bit of this wild abstraction. Then after reading through John Baez and Bartosz Milewsky's website and Youtube lectures with a little bit of my own thinkering, I have been able to grasp the basics but learning without interaction is not only boring but also dangerous! So I am greatly honored and excited to partake in this course with all of you and hopefully I will be able to keep up and maybe even contribute.

My current fields of study are : complex adaptive systems, information theory, nonlinear dynamics, combinatorics, and cycle analysis of physiological processes

Comments

Hello, Michael! Thanks for drawing that picture. I think it will really help people understand what I'm talking about.

I'm trying to apply category theory to open chemical reaction networks. I recently visited Wisconsin to talk to Gheorghe Craciun, the expert who proved the Global Attractor Conjecture, to recruit his help. We made some interesting progress on understanding nonequilibrium steady states of open chemical reaction networks. Next week I'll be going to Leiden to help some students work on a project relating open reaction networks to ATP coupling.