Options

Introduction: Paul Cadman

Hi,

I'm a software engineer in London interested in using functional programming and type theory to make software better (for a nice definition of better).

Before I got into software development I completed a PhD in Algebraic Geometry. Category Theory was very useful in my studies and research so I was thrilled to see that the same ideas have applications in software engineering. I'm excited to explore this more with everyone.

Comments

Hi! What sort of algebraic geometry did you, and how was category theory involved? I have a hobby of slowly learning bits of algebraic geometry.

It's cool that topoi, first developed by Grothendieck for algebraic geometry, wound up becoming a new approach to logic and are now being used by David Spivak and others to do things like design air traffic control systems.

Comment Source:Hi! What sort of algebraic geometry did you, and how was category theory involved? I have a hobby of slowly learning bits of algebraic geometry. It's cool that topoi, first developed by Grothendieck for algebraic geometry, wound up becoming a new approach to logic and are now being used by David Spivak and others to do things like design air traffic control systems.

Hi John, thanks for starting this group.

Yes - it's wonderful that those new approaches are being exploited from some very abstract and general theories.

My work was in singularity theory - specifically studying shapes representing deformations of other shapes containing singularities. Category theory is used in many different ways, as you know it's very versatile. It's significance in maths goes very deep and I can't claim to understand more than a very small part of it.

Here's a couple of more practical ways category theory was useful for me.