Options

Introduction: Andrew Ardill

Hi everyone, I studied Pure and Applied Mathematics at UNSW a few years back, and currently work as a Business Intelligence Analyst.

My mother loves to tell people that during the course of asking why I wanted to study mathematics at university I said "You don't go to university to get a job" and for what it's worth I still mostly stand by that!

I enjoy spending time studying mathematics and programming, but find too often that I just read interesting things without engaging with it myself, and having read far too many interesting things about category theory decided now is the time to engage with it.

At some point I want to revisit my thesis topic, wallowing underdeveloped and unresolved in the back of my mind, on the reversibility of symbolic dynamical systems and analogues in a specific geometric space, and who knows this may be the first step.

Looking forward to learning with you all.

Comments

edited April 2018

Glad to have you here! I've got a book by my bed called Chaos on the Interval, and it's pretty amazing, but I haven't had time to read it. It's about maps from the interval to itself. It doesn't get into "symbolic dynamical systems", but it's probably connected.

Comment Source:Glad to have you here! I've got a book by my bed called _[Chaos on the Interval](https://www.math.u-psud.fr/~ruette/articles/chaos-int.pdf)_, and it's pretty amazing, but I haven't had time to read it. It's about maps from the interval to itself. It doesn't get into "symbolic dynamical systems", but it's probably connected.
    edited April 2018

Thanks @JohnBaez #1, looks like I might have to add that to my reading list as well.

The specific thing I was looking at were two dynamic systems that we could relate together.

The first was symbolic, where a point was defined as a sequence of symbols (1s and 0s) with a marker denoting the 'current' symbol, a point. For example \(...101.001...\)