Options

Introduction: Jared Davis

I am a programmer, or, what I sometimes call a "data plumber". I started college thinking I'd study mathematics, but was drawn into a philosophy degree instead. I've maintained a strong interest in mathematics broadly as well as run local discussion groups to keep fresh.

I am especially looking forward to what Seven Sketches will say about databases and signal flows.

Comments

edited April 8

Hi! I think you'll find that category theory is deeply philosophical... if you want to think about it that way. It introduces a world-view that goes way beyond the old set-theoretic foundations of mathematics. Even you're now a programmer, you might enjoy Categories for the Working Philosopher. Many of the individual chapters can be found free online.

Comment Source:Hi! I think you'll find that category theory is deeply philosophical... if you want to think about it that way. It introduces a world-view that goes way beyond the old set-theoretic foundations of mathematics. Even you're now a programmer, you might enjoy _[Categories for the Working Philosopher](https://global.oup.com/academic/product/categories-for-the-working-philosopher-9780198748991)_. Many of the individual chapters can be found free online.

woof, that's quite a price tag, must be why I haven't gotten my hands on it yet. Looking at the TOC, the essays seem very interesting. Thanks!

Comment Source:woof, that's quite a price tag, must be why I haven't gotten my hands on it yet. Looking at the TOC, the essays seem _very_ interesting. Thanks!

I've found an affordable copy of Categories for the Working Philosopher on Amazon. Thank you again for the suggestion; I should be in a better place to get more from the volume after following along with this course the past couple weeks.