Options

Introduction: Kyle Cormier

edited April 15 in Chat

I'm a graduate student in experimental particle physics. I first came to physics by way of philosophy and logic, and have a great love of generalizing concepts, as well as many areas of science and math. So exploring a little bit of category theory seems like a very natural thing to do. Modern particle physics is a fairly large collaborative process with many sets, networks, circuits, databases, etc of many types so I'll be very interested to see if I can apply some of what I learn here directly to my work. But my primary goal isn't to apply this to particle physics, just to understand, and maybe get involved in some related projects if there's something interesting.

Comments

edited April 15

Hi, Kyle. It's especially nice to have an experimental particle physicist here, since category theory has so far been the preserve of extremely theoretical particle physicists, like the string theorists who eat Calabi-Yau categories and derived categories of coherent sheaves for breakfast. I used to hover in that vicinity, but recently I've been getting excited about how categories show up in more down-to-earth topics like electrical engineering, designing networks of drones, databases and the like. Category theory is a very generally applicable new way of thinking... but it takes time and work to get it to help!

What sort of particle physics do you do, exactly? Are you affiliated with a big experiment? At U. C. Riverside we have a lot of people working at CERN and also one at RHIC.