Options

Introduction: Jacob Westman

Hi, I'm a statistician/software developer, currently working at a small tech company in Sweden. My background is in statistics/mathematics and philosophy. I have been interested in category theory for a while without having the time to make a deep dive yet. I'm very curious about applications related to natural language processing and functional programming. I'm also curious to see if there are connection to statistics more generally. I've only seen a hand full of attempts at finding connections between these fields, but this is something I could see myself working a lot on if there is something interesting to find.

Comments

edited April 2018

Hi, Jacob! There's bound to be interesting connections between statistics and category theory, because both disciplines are very general and conceptual. But discovering them will require a good knowledge of both fields. I'll give you a couple of references.

Comment Source:Hi, Jacob! There's bound to be interesting connections between statistics and category theory, because both disciplines are very general and conceptual. But discovering them will require a good knowledge of both fields. I'll give you a couple of references.
    edited April 2018

Here's something worth reading:

It's an interesting paper that introduces category theory to formalize the general concept of "statistical model", followed by discussions including a very interesting one that starts on page 1279, by Hans Brøns, who writes: