Options

Introduction: Tobias Fritz

Hi everyone! Here's yet another introduction.

I'm a mathematician at the MPI for Mathematics in the Sciences. A large part of my work is about resource theories, which will soon be a topic in the Applied Category Theory course. I'm looking forward to discussing that stuff with you all, especially because there's such a diverse crowd here!

From my biased personal perspective, the most interesting application that we have so far of the resource theories formalism is to thermodynamics, where we've developed simple methods to answer questions like, "How much work can be extracted from a given state?", or "What is the maximal efficiency of a heat engine operating with a given amount of hot and cold substances?"

I also have a loosely related interest in the foundations of probability, on which I'm currently working with my student Paolo Perrone, and previously on entropy with John Baez and Tom Leinster.

Comments

edited April 2018

Hi, Tobias! It's good to have you here. Here's what will happen next in the course: I just finished talking about Chapter 1 (posets, adjoints, joins and meets), and since I'll be at ACT2018 from April 21st to May 5th we'll spend two weeks going through the exercises in this chapter. We'll start on Chapter 2 (monoidal posets, string diagrams and resource theories) after that. Maybe I should wake you up then. It would be good to talk about your paper on resource theories.

I hadn't seen your paper A resource theory for work and heat. It looks interesting, but it looks more like conventional physics than "symmetric monoidal posets". I wonder how it's connected to your earlier paper.