Options

Introduction: Anna Mai

Hi All, I'm a graduate student in linguistics studying representation in phonology. A fellow graduate student introduced me to category theory through the DisCoCat model of semantics a couple of months ago, and I've been excited to learn more ever since. My hope is to be able to concretise the mathematical relationship between rule-based phonology and constraint-based phonology, and I think category theory might be useful tool to that end. I'm looking forward to learning with everyone here!

Comments

Hi Anna, your work sounds interesting! I'm dealing with math and music (including some references to singing voice). Categories are a really helpful tool. I hope we can share some research ideas!

Comment Source:Hi Anna, your work sounds interesting! I'm dealing with math and music (including some references to singing voice). Categories are a really helpful tool. I hope we can share some research ideas!

Welcome to the course, Anna! Where are you a grad student, if I may ask? And what's "representation" in phonology - the problem of representing phonemes using symbols, or something like that?

I didn't know phonology had rule-based and constraint-based versions. It sounds interesting. Right now I'm just dipping my toe in the sea of linguistics, since I've been trying to understand Lambek's work and the DisCoCat model. (I've included some easy links for other people who might read this and wonder what I'm talking about.)