Options

Introduction: Eldad Afik

edited April 30 in Chat

I am an experimental physicist by training, currently (since summer 2016) a postdoc at the Meyerowitz lab at Caltech.

My main interest in Applied Category Theory (ACT) stems from a search for a formal framework, that is, a mathematical formalism, which would be insightful for research in Life Sciences. The broader objective is, hopefully, to better understand What is Life (sorry for the plagiarism...), and how concepts such as function, program, control and “decision making”, emerge in Natural material systems which are "alive". Specifically, I focus on developmental biology in plants.

ACT seems promising to me as a mathematical framework to approach such questions, organize & communicate results, and formulate hypotheses. In any event, it stimulates discussions which I find fascinating; it is a great opportunity for me to improve my mathematical education and thinking. Many thanks to all those who drive the discussions -- it is a pleasure to learn from you!

Comments

Hi Eldad!

I'm down the way from you here at Caltech (Pierce lab) :) My friend Cory Tobin did his Phd in the Meyerowitz lab, possibly maybe you had a little bit of overlap with him? He's running an open bio-lab now where I'm a member. I'm also very excited also about how ACT can be used to understand and talk about systems in biology. Maybe a Caltech study group is in order at some point!

Comment Source:Hi Eldad! I'm down the way from you here at Caltech (Pierce lab) :) My friend Cory Tobin did his Phd in the Meyerowitz lab, possibly maybe you had a little bit of overlap with him? He's running an [open bio-lab](https://www.thel4b.com/) now where I'm a member. I'm also very excited also about how ACT can be used to understand and talk about systems in biology. Maybe a Caltech study group is in order at some point!
    edited April 30

Hi Grant,