Options

Introduction: Daniel Blank

edited May 2018 in Chat

Hello from Germany!

I am a student of Computer Science, currently in grad school. My main interest is the verification of computer programs and programming languages. This is also the first motivation why I want to learn more about CT (category theory): It has applications in both of these areas. My second motivation is that I am a lazy ("cost-efficient") person; I don't like learning redundantly. If something is the same as another thing, I want to think about these two things at the same time, and not have them float around as two seemingly separate concepts. CT seems like a great tool to learn about similar things. Unfortunately my math background is weak, but I love the kind of results one arrives at in CT and as a visual person, diagram chasing is great!

I am currently trying to find the balance between academia, side projects and other parts of life - so I am afraid I can't guarantee to be as active as I'd like. I will try my best to keep pace tho and hopefully will be able to ask the one or other interesting question.

Last, I am really looking forward to learn CT with all of you! :)

PS: As a programmer, my preferred way of understanding concepts is implementing them as an algorithm. I would be really interested in programming the learned concepts. Hopefully I find the time myself, or maybe someone else has already started something like this. A starting point for implementing categories could be this: http://www.cs.man.ac.uk/~david/categories/

Comments

edited May 2018