Options

Introduction: Kristoffe Zehr

Hello everyone. I got my bachelors in Computer Science and Cognitive science at RPI. For a few years after this I worked as a software engineer, and it was during this time that I was first exposed to category theory through Bartosz Milewski's excellent series of blog posts.

I'm currently a graduate student at UIC, preparing to apply to PhD programs in mathematics this fall. I plan to study category theory for my PhD, but I am not yet sure what sort of problems to work on.

At the moment I happen to be organizing an informal course in category theory for programmers while studying for the GRE math test over the summer.

Comments

Hi, Kristoffe. Fellow RPI alumnus here (BS/MS physics). Now live in Boston, starting part-time grad work in CS in the fall, interested in AI, developmental/cognitive robotics, and teaching robots to learn analogy and metaphor. I'm a bit over my head here with the math, but I'm trying to self-learn Cat Theory. My intuition tells me it will be useful (but not exactly sure how!). I'm also very interested in Conceptual Spaces Theory and concepts as applied to AI. There are a number of papers applying Cat Theory to Conceptual Space theory. Have you thought about applying Cat Theory to AI?

Comment Source:Hi, Kristoffe. Fellow RPI alumnus here (BS/MS physics). Now live in Boston, starting part-time grad work in CS in the fall, interested in AI, developmental/cognitive robotics, and teaching robots to learn analogy and metaphor. I'm a bit over my head here with the math, but I'm trying to self-learn Cat Theory. My intuition tells me it will be useful (but not exactly sure how!). I'm also very interested in Conceptual Spaces Theory and concepts as applied to AI. There are a number of papers applying Cat Theory to Conceptual Space theory. Have you thought about applying Cat Theory to AI?