Options

Introduction

Thanks for the friendly welcome John.

I'm a non-academic, self-taught computer programmer with interests in:

information theory, bayesian and maxent methods
functional thinking and programming (haskell)
program correctness (Z, CSP, learning CASL, proof tools)
linear programming

Unfortunately I had 6 years experience programming large websites in java. I also used to be a journalist so good documentation and literate programming have always been my way.

I've started going through the azimuth documentation to find out what's what.

I haven't had the mileage to keep up with my favourite climate source ie. realclimate.org since the U. E. Anglia CRU hacking but I did skim some of their Fortran. I'll have to try and find the model name and downloaded code again but what was I noticed were the painful efforts at documentation by the CRU's main programmer. Iirc "which data set is this code matched with?" seemed to be the main kind of comment. Data validation and verification problems obviously figure largely in the current state of the field.

At the moment I'm assembling some programmed learning software and have tried some toy programming in what is known as functional reactive animation, happily now having the time to get back to CAD programming after 20 years.

I have very ugly placeholder website with a friend's very good 3D Studio Max animations at stuttard.org.

I look forward to receiving any suggestions for needed contributions to azimuth code or anything else.

Cheers

Comments

Hi and welcome!

Unfortunately I had 6 years experience programming large websites in java.

What's so bad about that? I spend the last 4 months as a consultant at BMW for a web project based on Java - there are worse jobs in the IT industry, believe me.

I look forward to receiving any suggestions for needed contributions to azimuth code or anything else.