Options

Introduction (belated)

Pleased to make everyones acquaintance!

I am a software developer working at an investment bank in New York using the Scala language mostly, but with a fair smattering of others thrown in. If anyone wants to talk about agile development, pair programming, test-driven development, or fixed income securities trading, I'm happy to oblige.

In a previous life my postgraduate studies were in statistics and algorithmic complexity but (grumbles) I let it slide to begin working; prior to that I studied neural networks at King's College, London, and prior to prior to that maths and computing science at Glasgow.

My current language loyalties are Haskell, Scala, and some Lisp variants, but I have also much enjoyed the recent Javascript work I've done, not really for the language itself, but for the mountains of cool stuff written in Javascript which I now have an excuse to geek-out on.

I am a new dad, a music lover, and a keen cook (which eats up about as much of my time as programming and raising a child put-together); I grew up in Scotland, live in Brooklyn, my favorite planet is Neptune, and I'm happy to have joined the Azimuth Project!

Comments

Nice to hear more about you, Allan! The people I meet online are often rather misty figures, at first... they appear from the shadows and start doing wonderful things, but often I don't have any sense of what they're actually like.

I have two very good mathematician friends in Glasgow now: Tom Leinster (who you may know from the n-Cafe: he works on n-categories and is running a conference on biodiversity which I'll attend this summer in Barcelona) and Danny Stevenson (who works on n-categories and higher gauge theory). So I like Glasgow. Do you ever go back there?

My student Alex Hoffnung went to Brooklyn College.

I went to grad school on Neptune. Did you see my comments about it here?