Options

Introduction

Hello everyone.

I am sorry it took me quite a while to introduce myself.

I'm a PhD candidate mathematician working at the University of Zagreb, Croatia. I am currently working in the field of rectifiability and fractal properties of solutions to some (nonautonomous) ODEs.

My general interest is dynamics of almost anything that evolves - be it in engineering, economics, ecology, politics and the kitchen sink (I am said to be of too broad interests for my own good). Foremost, though, I am interested in the real-world questions of sustaining human societies and whatever science that may entail.

I am of opinion that both climate change and growing inaccessibility of high-octane fuel are so likely that it is necessary to adapt to them rather than focus on fighting them. On the less pessimistic side, I am very fond of permaculture as both a set of ideas and a set of ethical priniciples and also of the GVCS project (Global village construction set).

On the societal/political side of my interests, I am very interested in cooperatives and their role both in the political-economic field and their possible ecological and sociological effects.

I enjoy reading a lot - lots of stuff from various sources (mainstream and non-mainstream, obscure and not), but I am usually very skeptical of conspiracy theories or any reverse narratives under the maxim "never attribute to malice what can be explained by plain incompetence" (or just noise). Among the authors I really enjoy reading are Ivan Supek, Benoit Mandelbrot, Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Karl Marx, Isaac Asimov, Niccolo Machiavelli and Thomas Kuhn.