Options

Introduction: Joseph Moeller

My name is Joe. I am a PhD Student at the University of California, Riverside, another member of John Baez's group. We use category theory to study networks. I want to apply categorical network theory to ecological networks.

Here is a rapid-fire list of other topics I'm interested in, none of which are disjoint: homotopy theory, music, coffee, programming, social justice, vegetarianism, politics, physics, linguistics, algebraic geometry

Comments

Hi, Joe! Great to see you here! What lies in the intersection of algebraic geometry and social justice? "Politicians' evil schemes"?

I hope we get into some ecological issues, though I don't think they're visible in Seven Sketches in Compositionality. I'm trying to work with my ACT2018 students on a biochemistry problem.

Comment Source:Hi, Joe! Great to see you here! What lies in the intersection of algebraic geometry and social justice? "Politicians' evil schemes"? I hope we get into some ecological issues, though I don't think they're visible in _Seven Sketches in Compositionality_. I'm trying to work with my ACT2018 students on a biochemistry problem.

Maybe I should have said "none of which are disconnected".

I've been chatting with my sister (who is home on spring break from UCSB, majoring in evolution and ecology) about ecology, and she's giving me ideas.

Comment Source:Maybe I should have said "none of which are disconnected". I've been chatting with my sister (who is home on spring break from UCSB, majoring in evolution and ecology) about ecology, and she's giving me ideas.

I guess I'd forgotten your sister was studying ecology. Great - learn stuff and try to translate it into math!

Comment Source:I guess I'd forgotten your sister was studying ecology. Great - learn stuff and try to translate it into math!