Options

Introduction: Zoltan Zimboras

After I got an account on the Azimuth Forum, John Baez sent an email suggesting that I introduce myself. So this introduction will be my first post here.

I'm a mathematical physicist working at the Theoretical Physics department of UPV/EHU in Bilbao, Spain. My research interest lies in the intersection of statistical physics and information theory - quantum and classical. I've been also involved in quantum control theory (mostly in Lie algebraic aspects) and more recently I worked on quantum complex network related topics.

I've heard about Azimuth from my collaborator and friend, Jacob Biamonte. I find this initiative very important, as sooner or later we all will be forced to face the environmental challenges. As a physicist, I haven't turned (yet?) my professional research field towards ecological and environmental issues. On the other hand, I've utilized my physics background in two other ways:

In the fall I will deliver a one-month crash course on Environmental Physics at the Budapest Campus of an American liberal art college (McDaniel). Budapest is actually my home town.
My brother is an architect, specializing in "passive houses" and other energy efficient buildings (he even has an extra degree in this). The importance of this subject is huge, since buildings account for nearly 40 percent of the global energy consumption. Hence building more energy efficient houses could have a great effect on carbon emission. I have been developing for my brother some basic physics background material (heat equation, energy flow) for the courses that he teaches. We are also planning to extend these to some modern Building Physics notes.

Coming to my role in the Azimuth project: