Programming with Categories - Lecture 8 - **Blueprints and Models**

These are my notes on the first part of Bartosz' lecture.

A very simple **blueprint** for a vertebrate animal, consists of a body connected to a head at the top and four limbs along the sides, two limbs per side. Bartosz draws this as a stick figure.

~~~
O
|
--|--
|
--|--
|
~~~

There can be many models of this blueprint category. **Human** and **Dog** are two such models. The human stick figure is the stereotype of what any kindergarten kid can do - it has the same number of lines as the blueprint (6).

~~~
O
/|\
/ \
~~~

And here's my version of the dog. See the video around 2:30 to see Bartosz' much better drawing of a dog.

~~~
O-----
/\ /\
~~~

How are these models related to each other and to the blueprint? Each is a separate category.

Below are the beginnings of my program that implements this in Haskell. I am just starting to learn Haskell so this is probably very naive.

To run it, or your own version of a Haskell implementation, you can install Haskell on your computer.

Or you can visit https://repl.it/languages/haskell, paste the following code into the editor, and click _run_.

~~~
main = do
-- specify the objects in each of the three categories
let blueprint = [0..5]
let human = ["head", "body", "leftarm", "rightarm", "leftleg", "rightleg"]
let dog = ["head", "body", "frontleftpaw", "frontrightpaw", "backleftpaw", "backrightpaw"]

-- specify the morphisms from blueprint to each of the two models, using lists of pairs
let bh = zip blueprint human
let bd = zip blueprint dog

-- print out the lists of pairs (the morphisms)
print bh
print bd
~~~

The result is:
~~~
[(0,"head"),(1,"body"),(2,"leftarm"),(3,"rightarm"),(4,"leftleg"),(5,"rightleg")]
[(0,"head"),(1,"body"),(2,"frontleftpaw"),(3,"frontrightpaw"),(4,"backleftpaw"),(5,"backrightpaw")]
~~~