I hope to see you at this conference!

* [Applied Category Theory 2019](http://www.cs.ox.ac.uk/ACT2019/), July 15-19, 2019, Oxford, UK.

Applied category theory is a topic of interest for a growing community of researchers, interested in studying systems of all sorts using category-theoretic tools. These systems are found in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as in computer science, linguistics, and engineering. The background and experience of our members is as varied as the systems being studied. The goal of the ACT2019 Conference is to bring the majority of researchers in the field together and provide a platform for exposing the progress in the area. Both original research papers as well as extended abstracts of work submitted/accepted/published elsewhere will be considered.

There will be best paper award(s) and selected contributions will be awarded extended keynote slots.

The conference will include a business showcase and tutorials, and there also will be an adjoint school, the following week (see webpage).

Important dates

* Submission of contributed papers: 3 May
* Acceptance/Rejection notification: 7 June


Prospective speakers are invited to submit one (or more) of the following:

* Original contributions of high quality work consisting of a 5-12 page extended abstract that provides sufficient evidence of results of genuine interest and enough detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the work. Submissions of works in progress are encouraged but must be more substantial than a research proposal.

* Extended abstracts describing high quality work submitted/published elsewhere will also be considered, provided the work is recent and relevant to the conference. These consist of a maximum 3 page description and should include a link to a separate published paper or preprint.

The conference proceedings will be published in a dedicated Proceedings issue of the new Compositionality journal:


Only original contributions are eligible to be published in the proceedings.

Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX, and must be submitted in PDF format. Use of the Compositionality style is encouraged. Submission is done via EasyChair:


Program chairs

* John Baez (U.C. Riverside)
* Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)

Program committee

* Bob Coecke (chair)
* John Baez (chair)
* Christina Vasilakopoulou
* David Moore
* Josh Tan
* Stefano Gogioso
* Brendan Fong
* Steve Lack
* Simona Paoli
* Joachim Kock
* Kathryn Hess Bellwald
* Tobias Fritz
* David I. Spivak
* Ross Duncan
* Dan Ghica
* Valeria de Paiva
* Jeremy Gibbons
* Samuel Mimram
* Aleks Kissinger
* Jamie Vicary
* Martha Lewis
* Nick Gurski
* Dusko Pavlovic
* Chris Heunen
* Corina Cirstea
* Helle Hvid Hansen
* Dan Marsden
* Simon Willerton
* Pawel Sobocinski
* Dominic Horsman
* Nina Otter
* Miriam Backens

Steering committee

* John Baez (U.C. Riverside)
* Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
* David Spivak (M.I.T.)
* Christina Vasilakopoulou (U.C. Riverside)